Butler Talks

Home » Global Leadership » T.H.I.N.K Before You Speak

T.H.I.N.K Before You Speak

Start here

Red-Think 2

With the intent to keep my content relevant and fresh, I am always on the lookout for leadership inspiration in a variety of different places. This month’s musings were inspired by the acronym T.H.I.N.K. introduced to me by Pastor Beth Neubauer from Emmanuel Lutheran Church in Vienna. To pause and think before speaking is always a good move and as my seminar participants know, I am a very avid proponent for pause practices and slowing down at times when the pulse quickens. Thus, pausing and applying the acronym consistently may produce even more effective communication results. Give it a try and let me know how it works for you!

Before you speak, T.H.I.N.K.:

 

1. T – Is it True?

Of the 5 things to ponder, this may be the trickiest. Facts and truth seem to be distorted with smoke and mirrors in too many public debates in the recent past. Allow me to try to simplify the concept of “true”. 

The first step would be to consider whether what I am about to say is accurate and based on facts or whether is it my personal interpretation of how facts present themselves to me. This clearly touches on the SOAR notion of Assertion = something can be evidenced to be true or false vs. Assessment = my personal interpretation and judgment of a certain set of circumstances. In other words: is what I am about to say based on facts or my personal opinion? A clear distinction between both may foster alignment in a conversation: This is what actually happened and this is what I think/ how I feel about it…

2. H – Is is Helpful?

Do I speak in the spirit of improving the situation or am I saying something to prove that I am right? I have made a mental Post-It note for myself and plastered it all over my brain synopses because the honest answer to that question is often very revealing to me and I know especially in my conversation with my teenage sons, I ought to take more breaths or more often than not hold my thoughts and keep them from spilling out of my mouth. 

Do I say what I am about to say to create a better future or am I trying to right the past and come out as the winner of the argument? Will my words help the situation or another person move forward?

 

3. I – Is it Inspired or Inspiring?

Is the message creative in that it will it lead to new aspirations or improve the situation? Is it likely to motivate others to put forth their best effort? What would make a response (more) inspired or inspiring?

 

4. N- Is it Necessary?

If the answer is “No” to all the lead questions above, maybe that particular thought is not worth sharing. Consider the intent behind it and what the spoken message is likely to create. Is it necessary to speak the thought out loud and will it create something positive or an opportunity for all parties involved? Does the conversation have the potential to make a difference in the world? It is my opinion that empty complaints with no intention to follow-up with action for example fall directly under the “un-necessary” category.

 

5. K- Kind

Is the message conveyed in an empathetic manner that meets others where they are? Does it come with the notion of love and support or does it come with the intention to hurt and cut down? Does it consider the other person’s situation and perspective?

 

My wish is that the T.H.I.N.K. concept would be applied throughout our public discourse, especially on social media. And if the answer is not a resounding “Yes” to at least three of the 5 lead questions, how about taking a break from speaking until there is a thought that IS true, helpful, inspiring, necessary and kind? What do you think?  

 

Be Well and Think, Be, Do Amazing Things!

Friderike 3


Leave a comment

Follow Butler Talks on WordPress.com
Follow Butler Talks on WordPress.com